Scribbles, scratches & scrapings from an aging manchild

019: Armageddon!

So A friend of mine calls me at work and says, “Hey dude, you did a graphic with a pig silhouetted from the side right?” I agreed that I had, in fact, created such a graphic. He further asked,” AWESOME! I need a side silhouette pig with fire coming out of it’s butt. It’s for a barbecue place. Fire coming out of it’s butt.” I told him that this could easily be done but thought it was a really poor choice for a logo element. He called me back after he got this and said he couldn’t stop laughing for an hour after he saw it. The logo he needed has a pig with it’s hind section on fire, not…well…shitting flames. That’s some spicy sauce.

Side note: A question for my 5 (6?) loyal readers: Are you slightly disappointed when I post a Graphic Design or photo instead of a drawing? Should I make a sketch only rule? comment with your thoughts.

9 responses

  1. blobguy

    Dude, it’s YOUR blog. If you’re worried about alienating people who’re only following for your art, set a disclaimer for each photo-post. Or maintain another blog for those who want to separate keeping track of your life from keeping track of your work.

    April 27, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    • A valid point Bobby-Boy. However, I’ve been trying to decide whether or not to go “all sketch” for a while now and thought I’d get the opinions of my audience before I decided. That noted….would you rather see all sketches or are you equally excited by GD and photos? I’ll decide later whether or not I care what you people think.

      April 27, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  2. Stan

    I think this should be a place for anything creative that you do. Don’t box yourself in by only showcasing one thing or another. If not for the graphic design posts, I’d never have this pig pyre to admire.

    April 27, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    • Allow to incorporate a letter “s” into the design so that you can appropriate it as your personal logo.

      April 27, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  3. Dorothy

    I like all your stuff. I like you. Art is art, yo. ALSO if you have potential clients looking at your sketch blog they’ll get to see how diverse you are.

    April 27, 2010 at 8:55 pm

  4. Stan

    I’ve actually already had the design tattooed on my arse. Wanna see?

    April 28, 2010 at 7:27 am

  5. LOL, love the rocket-pig!

    April 28, 2010 at 7:26 pm

  6. yeah, dude. your stuff is awesome, and i like seeing all of it, so post whatever you want here.

    April 29, 2010 at 6:36 am

Leave a Reply

