Scribbles, scratches & scrapings from an aging manchild

053: The Sage of Shadowdale

My latest Miniature, a re-paint of one of my favorite characters as a young high school student. This was the the official Elminster miniature licensed by TSR in the ’90s. I painted it the first time when I was about 15, and I really wanted to do it justice, so i soaked it in acetone and painstakingly took the old paint off with a small wire brush. I based the new paint job on the most well-known painting of Elminster from the time the piece was issued, but I skipped the leopard skin cloak because it was…well…stupid. I’d really like to get the new miniature based on his more current look and give it a try.

Leave a Reply

