Scribbles, scratches & scrapings from an aging manchild

1,000: You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby

1000 Entry 4 Redux 6-25-2013

Entry 4 girly+fixed+sorta

Holy shit, dudes – 1,000 Entries! I started my original sketch blog,Sketch Party 2000 six (six!) years ago, here’s a snippet of the old blog description:

“I started Sketch Party 2000 in April of 2007 with no real goals in mind. Soon after, it evolved into a daily ritual. I posted a sketch, photo, film, or some other piece of my art every day for a year. Somewhere in the middle of that year I went back to school, and if you start at the beginning and move toward the current entries you should be able to see that I paid attention in class.”

The blog started as a way for me to get in the habit of drawing more often. I’d been neglecting my skills for a few years and needed a way to change that. It has been one of the best things I’ve ever done as an artist. I completed 641 entries between April 2007 and December 2009, then started Sketchy Mcdrawpants on January 12, 2010, which was my 29th birthday. Now, the two blogs are like some crazy road-map of my journey from “guy who can draw kinda good” to a professional illustrator. It’s been one hell of a trip, and I’d like to thank you all for joining me (especially the few of you that have been here since day one), here’s to 1,000 more.

For my thousandth entry, I wanted to take another stab at a sketch from my first week (Entry 4). I never notice how much I’ve improved until I look at old art, and it’s even more painfully evident when I re-draw something. The original piece (smaller image) is a hot mess, and I tried my best to improve every part of it in the new drawing.

3 responses

  1. Congrats! That is really awesome. I love your work, and I hope you keep the creative juices flowing.

    June 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    • Thanks so much!

      June 26, 2013 at 2:59 pm

  2. Very awesome to see your progress in this way. Have you seen that movie Hallpass? Where they’re in the club and the old man tells em about how a girl who is a 7 will stand around 3’s to make herself appear hot? But then when you take the 3’s away you can see how she’s butt….Thats this in reverse-ish sort of; when I look at the early pic by itself, it looks pretty good! but put the new one next to it and she becomes an unfortunate result of cousin’s mating etc, etc… You’re quite talented man. Keep up the #rocknroll

    February 14, 2014 at 12:33 am

Leave a Reply

